Gulaebaghavali (English: The Flower of Bakavali) is a 2018 Tamil action comedy film, written and directed by Kalyaan and produced by KJR Studios. The film features Prabhu Deva and Hansika Motwani in the leading roles, with Revathi, Ramdoss and Yogi Babu among others portraying supporting roles. Featuring music by Vivek–Mervinand cinematography by Anandakumar, the film was released on 12 January 2018.




• Prabhu Deva as Badri, Nambi’s goon

• Hansika Motwani as Viji, Badri’s love interest

• Revathi as Masha, professional thief

• Anandaraj as Munish’s boss

• Ramdoss as Munish

• Motta Rajendran as Annachi

• Sathyan as Mayilvakanam

• Mansoor Ali Khan as Nambi

• Yogi Babu as Panni

• Vela Ramamoorthy as The village head

• Madhusudhan Rao as Sampath

• Ambani Shankar as Maari

• T. M. Karthik



In April 2017, Prabhu Deva agreed terms to work on a fantasy adventure comedy film titled Gulaebaghavali under the direction of Kalyaan, who had previously made Kadhai Solla Poren (2016). Hansika Motwani, who had earlier worked in Prabhu Deva’s productions and directorial projects, was cast to play the leading female role opposite Prabhu Deva. Produced by KJR Studios, the makers also cast Revathi in a pivotal role, while a bevy of supporting actors including Ramdoss, Yogi Babu and Anandaraj were also recruited. A first look poster was released in May 2017, with Deva and Hansika revealed to be portraying con-artistes. Following the release of Baahubali: The Conclusion (2017), the team actively decided to enhance the film’s budget on costumes to ensure a rich production value appeared on screen. The makers of the film included a scene which makes a reference to the 1955 film of the same name, with Kalyaan devising a special flashback sequence to connect the two films. For a particular set in the film, the art director created a replica of the Hanging Gardens of Babylon at a cost of two crores.



The film’s music was composed by duo Vivek–Mervin, in their fourth film venture following Vadacurry (2014), Pugazh (2016) and Dora (2017). The soundtrack was released on 24 December 2017 through Think Music India.

No.   Title                        Lyrics                                      Singer(s)

1.   “Guleba”                 Ku. Karthik                                Anirudh Ravichander, Mervin Solomon

2. “Seramal Ponnal”     Ko. Sesha                                   Mervin Solomon, Sameera Bharadwaj

3. “Heartukulla”            Pa. Vijay                                     Nakash Aziz, SanjanaDiwakar

4. “You’re The One”      Ko. Sesha, Inno Genga           Inno Genga

You May Also Like :


Subscribe to our newsletter to receive news & updates right on your mailbox.